The watering down of American Girl

A new American Girl Doll store opened this week in Columbus.  My childhood dream come true.  We visited the new store last weekend before the grand opening, and while some of the magic was still there, it was sad to see what American Girl has become.  A small corner of the store is devoted to the historical dolls I loved as a child, and the rest of the store has been overtaken by the narcissistic and boring “looks like me” dolls (full disclosure-I had one of those dolls as well, so I get the appeal.  But, she was more boring than my historic dolls, just like me.)  Apparently old school American Girl Doll lovers everywhere feel this way:

“American Girls aren’t radical anymore” from The Atlantic

“Even more terrible things are happening to the American Girl Doll brand than you thought” from The Washington Post

And, just a bonus, “What your American Girl Doll says about you” 

I was a Kirsten, by the way, but I was spoiled lucky enough to have a mom who loved the dolls and books as much as I did, so I have all the original dolls up to Addy.

Which doll did you have/want/love the most?

Leave a Reply

