Spring Break

It’s been way too long since I last posted, and lots has happened since then! I successfully finished my second quarter of graduate school, and only have one more left in my first year! It is such a relief to accomplish something and get a little break. It’s going to be really tough focusing on school all the way until June with the weather getting more beautiful.

I got to spend the first part of my Spring Break in Dayton with Pat, and we had a great time. It was St. Patrick’s Day and his birthday. Here are a few pictures of our fun times:

St. Patrick’s Day in Dayton…Apparently Daytonians embrace their Irish heritage with gusto. Grown men shaved their heads leaving only shamrock patterns of hair, people took the day off of work to celebrate, every Dayton firefighter had a custom “St. Paddy’s ’09” t-shirt made, bars opened at 5:30 a.m. It was over the top. I wasn’t quite as enthusiastic, but a good time was had anyway.

On Saturday Pat and I went to the Dayton Carillon Park. It was similar to the Ag Museum in Jackson. They have the first plane that the Wright were able to keep airborne for any significant amount of time (the Wright brothers were from Dayton). It was really fun and such a pretty day. We can’t wait to check out some of the other things Ohio has to offer!

This week I’ve been lucky enough to spend at home in Mississippi. I’ve gotten to spend time with my friends the Harbarger’s and got to see my friend Brittany today. It’s so nice to get to see people I love! That’s what I miss most when I’m in Ohio, the relationships and social connections in Mississippi. I miss my friends and family, but also friendly people and small degrees of separation between everyone here.

One thought on “Spring Break

Leave a Reply

