Geocaching Extravaganza

So, I know I talk about the cold a lot, but it’s mostly just because I’m fascinated by the fact that we’re all just expected to go about our merry way when the city says we’re under a “Level 1 Snow Emergency” and it is -10 degrees outside (no really, when I left this morning it was -10…not “feels like” -10, but really -10!!!!). Last night on the news they said that it is possible to get frost bite within 30 minutes in this weather (the amount of time it takes me to walk to school), and showed us how to cure it….thanks NBC 4.

These extreme temperatures are the background for the story of my little adventure yesterday. Being a geography grad student has lots of perks: learning about different and interesting places, traveling is considered part of our job, the department provides quite a few free meals, you can justify studying pretty much anything you think is cool, the list goes on and on.

Well, yesterday the department had a fun event planned for us; we were going geocaching, which is basically a high tech scavenger hunt. What they didn’t plan on were sub-zero temperatures and a half foot of snow! Let me just say, hunting for tiny tupperware’s, decoding 50 lines to get a clue, and running eight flights of stairs to find a clue on the roof really lost its allure when our fingers started turning blue! My team did get third place though, which came with a bounty of prizes including an Ohio State Geography pointer and a jump drive…totally worth it.

Also, I know my MacBook Pro is supposed to have mad, crazy capabilities for all things creative, but I can’t seem to figure out how to make a header. I tried to give mine a little makeover, but the font choices on Blogger are subpar. Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Stay warm, friends!

2 thoughts on “Geocaching Extravaganza

Leave a Reply

